Drunk at the Empire State building

 The lights are so bright that you think it’s day time even at night. New York is a city that seems to breathe, live, and pulsate. It is known as the city that never sleeps. Visiting New York City is an opportunity of a life, and one I’ll never forget.

The first time I visited New York City, I was a junior in high school, and I was visiting with my DECA club. When we landed in NYC, we were given a strict schedule to make the most of our limited time in this extraordinary city. The schedule included various tourist attractions: The Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Times Square, Wall Street, Yankee Stadium, and the Empire State Building. Each location proved to be an experience, but my visit to the Empire State Building was unlike anything I ever experienced before or since.

Walking into the building, we took in the architecture of the famous building. Once inside, we took our tickets in hand and got in line for the elevators that would take us up to the viewing platform on the 86th floor. All of us were excited to see the city lights glowing bright against the night sky. Unfortunately, the elevator lines were long and we were forced to wait. Patiently waiting in line, some used this time to visit with those around them while others played on their phones. I did neither. Instead, I was content to observe those around me. The people gathered together were something else. It was quite amazing. People from all over the world with different backgrounds had all come here for the same thing; to visit one of the most famous buildings in the world and to see the Big Apple. For me, some people stood out more than others with their heavy accents, the clothes they wore, and how they behaved.

As I moved along the line a group of women caught my eye. Three ladies who seemed to be a mother and her two adult daughters were rather loud and rambunctious, and stood out in the large waiting room. Standing there observing them, I noticed they seemed to be three sheets to the wind. Drunk as can be, these ladies were handsy and grinding on each other. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Embarrassed, I couldn’t seem to look away. Just as I thought it couldn’t get any worse, it does. One of the young girls started yelling something at the other one before pulling up her own shirt over her chest, flashing everyone around her. Embarrassed and shocked, I looked around to see if anyone else had caught their unexpected show, but no one else did. At seventeen, I’d never encountered anyone as drunk as they were. Thankfully, the elevator arrived and we were next in line.

The view from the Empire State Building is breathtaking. The lights shimmer brightly amongst the night sky. Looking down from 1,454 feet was terrifying, but the beauty trumped my fear.. I felt like I was in a dream as I stood there looking out at the beautiful sights of the city. New York is an amazing city, and I could see every part of it from my view atop the Empire State Building.

All too soon, it was time for us to go. Moving around the other visitors, we made our way to the elevator line that would take us back down. Surprisingly, the wait to go down wasn’t as long as it was to come up. Piling into the elevator, my classmates and parent volunteers stood close together trying to be kind and make room for other visitors ready to leave. However, we weren’t anticipating the three drunk women joining us. The air became uncomfortable as they walked in being just as rowdy and obnoxious as they were before. The elevator doors closed, and we began to slowly descend. Unfortunately, not fast enough to please one of the drunk ladies. Hollering and crying that we were stuck, she began pushing buttons on the elevator’s control panel causing the elevator to stop while warning blasts rang through out our small car. Looking at each other, none of us knew what to do. A voice came over the speakers in the elevator car advising us that they could see that there was nothing wrong with our car and telling the lady that she needed to keep her hands to herself and stop pushing the elevator’s buttons. Drunk and confused, the lady didn’t understand and continued pushing the buttons. The rest of us were apologizing to the elevator operator and trying to get the lady to stop. Nothing worked until her daughters finally stepped in. They were able to pull her back and get her under control. Thankfully, the elevator began moving again and we arrived safely on the ground floor. Free once again to go enjoy the bright lights of New York City.

Leave a Reply

